You can customize your merge comments and make them public. This is especially useful if you'd like to notify the requester whenever a ticket is auto merged.
Auto Merge Setup > Auto Merge > Merge comments.
The following merge comments are available:
- Comment for ticket being closed out (source ticket)
- Comment for ticket being merged into (target ticket)
Each merge comment has its own set of placeholders that you can use to dynamically populate ticket information.
To make a merge comment public, enable the "Requester can see this comment" option.