In Zendesk, you can control exactly which agents have access to an app by enabling group restrictions. This also ensures you're only billed for agents who actually use the app.
Enabling group restrictions
- If you're installing the app for the first time, you'll see the app settings page during checkout. Otherwise, go to Zendesk Admin Center > Apps and integrations > Zendesk Support apps, then click the app name (Routing, Auto Merge, etc.).
- Check Enable group restrictions? and select the group(s) that should have access to the app. As the admin, make sure you're also a member of at least one of the selected groups, otherwise you won't be able to configure the app.
- You can ignore the "Billing details" form, it doesn't affect anything. Click Update to save.
We generally recommend group restrictions over role restrictions. Role restrictions are harder to maintain and offer less flexibility.