In Zendesk, you can choose exactly which agents should have access to an app by enabling group restrictions. This also ensures that you are only billed for agents that actually need to use the app.
Enabling group restrictions
- If you are installing the app for the first time, you'll see the app settings page during checkout. Otherwise, go to Zendesk Admin > Manage > App name (Routing, Auto Merge, etc.).
- Check Enable group restrictions? and select the group(s) that should have access to the app. As the admin, make sure you are also a member of at least one of the selected groups. Otherwise, you won't be able to configure the app.
We generally recommend avoiding role restrictions because it's more difficult to maintain and provides less flexibility than group restrictions.